The History of BERGER-RIVE

Berger-Rive : Family History

Mercey and the Berger family

In the hamlet of Mercey, part of the parish of Cheilly-les-Maranges, there stands a Priory, built by the monks from Cluny in the 13th century. And this is where it all began…


At the time of the French Revolution, Mercey Priory was bought up by the ancestors of the BERGER family. A large area of the local hillsides was already covered with vines.

The first half of the 20th century was a very difficult time for this area: first of all, Burgundy was not spared when the phylloxera crisis wiped the entire European wine-growing region off the map, and then the two World Wars, with between them a serious economic crisis in the 1930s. The region’s wine-growers moved to town, in Le Creusot, to retrain for work in industry.

Jacques and Gérard Berger At the end of the Second World War, Jacques BERGER (1894–1984) bought the early 19th century Manoir de Mercey.

In 1960, his son Gérard BERGER gradually turned it into a veritable wine-growing estate by planting 12 ha of vineyards. He added his wife Laure Rive’s name to his own to create the “Domaine Berger-Rive”. In those days, the wines were only sold in bulk, through wholesale wine merchants

In 1977, Xavier BERGER joined his father, and took over running the Domaine Berger-Rive estate when he retired in 1989. He gradually enlarged the Domaine, which today covers 22 ha. He decided to market his wine directly, sold from now on in bottles.

L'histoire de BERGER-RIVE

Berger-Rive : Une histoire de Famille

Mercey et la Famille Berger

À Mercey, hameau de la commune de Cheilly-les-Maranges, il existe un Prieuré, édifié au XIIIème siècle par les moines de Cluny. C’est là que tout a commencé…


Au moment de la Révolution Française, le Prieuré de Mercey est acquis par les aïeux de la famille BERGER. La vigne recouvre déjà une grande partie des coteaux de la région.

La première moitié du XXème siècle est une période très difficile pour la région : d’abord le phylloxéra, qui raye de la carte tout le vignoble européen et n’épargne pas la Bourgogne, puis les deux guerres mondiales, entrecoupées d’une grave crise économique dans les années 1930. Les vignerons de la région s’en vont à la ville, au Creusot, pour se reconvertir dans l’industrie.

Jacques et Gérard BergerC’est à la fin de la 2ème guerre mondiale que Jacques BERGER (1894-1984) acquiert le Manoir de Mercey, propriété bâtie au début de XIXème siècle.

En 1960, son fils Gérard BERGER en fait progressivement un véritable domaine viticole en plantant 12 ha de vigne. Il lui donne le nom de «Domaine Berger-Rive», résultat de la juxtaposition du nom de sa femme (Laure RIVE) au sien. La vente des vins se fait alors uniquement en vrac, via des négociants.

Xavier BERGER rejoint son père en 1977 et prend la direction du Domaine Berger-Rive à la retraite de celui-ci, en 1989. Il agrandit progressivement le Domaine, qui aujourd’hui s’étend sur 22 ha. Il choisit de commercialiser directement son vin, désormais vendu en bouteilles.